Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Best in Music 2010 Unwinnable

Unwinnable had a best in music 2010 piece. In between a bunch of music I could care less about I chimed with something I get get into.

Since their debut at SXSW this year, Off! has brought some life and breath back to punk rock. Staying true to form, OFF! has released several limited-run 7-inch EPs throughout the year. The first EP contained 4 songs and had a run time of just over 4 minutes. There is nothing faux under the hood of this monster.

The EPs have been collected in a boxed set called, predictably, First Four EPs, with cover art by Raymond Pettibon, the man who provided the iconic artwork for numerous Black Flag albums. He is in good company considering OFF! features Keith Morris, formerly of Black Flag and the Circle Jerks, on vocals. The rest of the band are veterans too: Dimitri Coats (Burning Brides) on guitar, Mario Rubalcaba on the drums (Earthless, Hot Snakes, Rocket From the Crypt) and Steven McDonald (Redd Kross) on bass. All in all OFF! is pretty awesome. (Charles Francis Moran VI)

No comments: